Home > Materi Pembelajaran > Certainty

Certainty

August 1, 2011

EXPRESSING CERTAINTY

Being sure.

-I’m sure / certain (that) (he will come / …)

-There is no doubt about it.

-No doubt (you’d like to see your gift / …)

-I certainly think / believe that (she was unhappy / …)

-I’m positive on that point.

-I’m certain…

-It is obvious that …

-That goes without saying.

-It’s crystal clear.

-It’s as sure as two and two make four.

Being less sure.

-I think so

-I think that ( they will be there by 6 / …)

-I suppose so.

-I suppose / expect that ( it is the way to the bus stop /…)

-I believe that ( he is sick / …)

-I assume (that ) (they did it / …)

-It’s more than probable that …

-I wouldn’t be surprised if ….

Being unsure.

-I’m not sure (that) …

-I wonder if…

-I doubt if …

-May be / perhaps (they’re right / …)

-It’s very doubtful whether (he’ll accept / …)

-There’s a little chance of (arriving in time / …)

-It isn’t known for use …

Not knowing.

-I don’t think so.

-I don’t think that (they will give her a ring / …)

-I don’t know / I’ve no idea / I wouldn’t like to say (where it is).

-I haven’t the faintest idea.

-Sorry, I can’t tell you.

 

 

Categories: Materi Pembelajaran
